Calendar

Duke University String School Calendar 2017-2018
Celebrating 50 years!

August

  • Saturday, August 26: Orientation @2pm, Nelson Music Room
  • Saturday, August 26 & Sunday, August 27: Auditions for new students, students wishing to move to next ensemble, and leadership positions in ISO, CSO and YS orchestras.

September

  • Monday, September 4: Fall Semester Begins
  • Saturday, September 9: First Ensemble Rehearsals of Fall Semester

October

  • Saturday, October 14: Violin and Viola Master Class with Erica Shirts, @2:00 - 3:30, Bone Hall
  • Saturday, October 28: Concerto Competition, Nelson Music Room

November

  • 50th Anniversary Concert Weekend!
    • Saturday, November 11: Beginner Groups and Violin/Cello Choir Concert, @4pm, Nelson Music Room
    • Sunday, November 12: ISO/CSO/YS Orchestra Concert, @6:30pm, Baldwin Auditorium, reception to follow
  • NO REHEARSALS NOVEMBER 25th (Thanksgiving)

December

  • Saturday, December 2: Solo Recital Dress Rehearsals, Time and Location TBD
  • Saturday, December 9: Solo recitals, 3-8pm, Nelson Music Room
  • Tuesday, December 12: Chamber Music Concert, @7pm, Nelson Music Room
  • FALL SEMESTER ENDS: December 12th. (Last ensemble rehearsals December 9th.)

January

  • Monday, January 8: Spring semester begins
  • Saturday, January 13: First ensemble rehearsals of Spring Semester
  • Saturday, January 27: DUSS Faculty Recital, "Vivaldi's Four Seasons," @4pm, Nelson Music Room

February

March

  • Saturday, March 3: Beginner Groups and Violin/Cello Choir Concert, Nelson Music Room, 4pm
  • Sunday, March 4: ISO/CSO/YS Orchestra Concert, @ 6:30pm, Baldwin Auditorium (Featuring Concerto Competition Winners).
  • Saturday, March 17: Solo Recital Dress Rehearsals, Time and Location TBD
  • Saturday, March 24: Solo recitals, 3-8pm, Nelson Music Room
  • Saturday, March 31: NO REHEARSALS (Spring Break)

April

  • Saturday, April 28: Beginner Groups and Violin/Cello Choir Concert, @4pm, Nelson Music Room
  • Saturday, April 28: Chamber Music Concert, @7pm, Nelson Music Room

May

  • Sunday, May 6: ISO/CSO/YS Orchestra Concert, @ 6:30, Baldwin Auditorium
  • SPRING SEMESTER ENDS: MAY 6TH