Mendelssohn-Bartholdy for the November 2017 Concert

Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy Stamp
Thursday, September 7, 2017

The Symphony No. 5 in D major/D minor, Op. 107, known as the Reformation, was composed by Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy in 1830 in honor of the 300th anniversary of the Presentation of the Augsburg Confession. The Confession is a key document of Lutheranism and its Presentation to Emperor Charles V in June 1530 was a momentous event of the Protestant Reformation. This symphony was written for a full orchestra and was Mendelssohn's second extended symphony. It was not published until 1868, 21 years after the composer's death – hence its numbering as '5'. Although the symphony is not very frequently performed, it is better known today than when it was originally published.
Read more about it on Wikipeadia

Download your parts below the Video.

To hear and watch it on Youtube, please click on the video button below.