Annual Calendar

2024-2025

August

  • August 24/25: Auditions (in person) for new students, students wishing to move to next ensemble, leadership positions in ISO, CSO and YS orchestras, and the DUSS Ciompi Collective (DCC).
  • Saturday, August 24: Orientation @ 3:00pm in Nelson Music Room

September

  • Week of September 4: Fall Semester Begins (check with your private teacher to see if they teach on Labor Day)
  • Saturday, September 7: First Ensemble Rehearsals of Fall Semester

October

  • Saturday, October 19, Concerto Competition, Nelson Music Room (Applications due 9/28)

November

  • Saturday, November 16: Solo recitals, 1-8pm, Nelson Music Room 
    • Dress Rehearsals Saturday, November 9
  • Saturday, November 23: Violin and Cello Choir Concert, @ 4pm, Nelson Music Room
  • Sunday, November 24: ISO/CSO/YS Orchestra Concert, @ 6:30pm, Baldwin Auditorium
  • Sunday, November 30: NO REHEARSALS (Thanksgiving weekend)

December

  • Saturday, December 7: Last large ensemble rehearsals before winter break (Sectionals)
  • Saturday, December 7: Chamber Music Concert, @ 5pm, Nelson Music Room.
  • FALL SEMESTER ENDS: December 13.

January

  • Saturday, January 11: First ensemble rehearsals of Spring Semester

February

  • Saturday, February 22: Violin and Cello Choir Concert, @4:00pm, Nelson Music Room
  • Sunday, February 23: ISO/CSO/YS Orchestra Concert, @ 6:30pm, Baldwin Auditorium

March

  • Saturday, March 15: Solo recitals, 3-8pm, Nelson Music Room (Dress rehearsals 3/8)
  • Saturday, March 30: NO REHEARSALS (Spring Break)

April

  • Saturday, April 12: Youth Music Day @NC Museum of Art, Raleigh
  • Wednesday, April 23: Chamber Music Concert @ 6:30, Nelson Music Room
  • Saturday, April 26: Violin and Cello Choir Concert, @ 4pm, Nelson Music Room
  • Sunday, April 27: ISO/CSO/YS Orchestra Concert, @ 6:30, Baldwin Auditorium